Learning- A poem

My Dad sent me this poem, as he did to Eve. I don’t know the source but love the sentiment.

Learning

After a while you learn the subtle difference

Between holding a hand and chaining a soul,

And you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning

And company doesn’t mean security.

And you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts

And presents aren’t promises -

And you begin to accept your  defeats

With your head up and your eyes open

And with the grace of an adult, not the

Grief of a child

And you learn to build your own roads today

Because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain

For your plans

After a while you learn that even sunshine

Burns if you get too much

So you plant your own garden and decorate

Your own soul – instead of waiting for

Someone to bring you  flowers,

And you learn  that you really can endure,

That you really are special,

And that you really do have a worth,

So live to learn and know yourself,

In doing so you will learn to live.

3 thoughts on “Learning- A poem

  1. I like the idea of decorating your own soul – sounds active rather than taking a look every now and then. I wonder how often we enjoy and celebrate or share learning about ourselves?

  2. I wrote a poem yrs ago very, very similar to this one.
    I Learned

    After awhile I learned the subtle difference between holding a hand and chaining a soul,
    And I learned that love doesn’t mean leaning and company doesn’t mean security,
    And I learned that kisses aren’t contracts and presents aren’t promises,
    And I accepted your defaults with my head up high and eyes wide open,
    And I learned to build all my roads on today because tomorrows ground is too uncertain for plans,
    And I learned that futures do have a way of falling down in mid flight.
    After awhile I learned that even sunshine burns if you get too much.
    So I plant my own garden and decorate my own soul, instead of waiting for you to bring me flowers,
    And I learned that I really am strong,
    And I learned that I realy do have worth,
    And I learn and learn with every hello and every good-bye.

Leave a Reply

