Unconference

An interesting post by Brian Kelly that contains a definition from Wikipedia re an ‘unconference’ 

An unconference is a conference where the content of the sessions is driven and created by the participants, generally day-by-day during the course of the event, rather than by a single organizer, or small group of organizers, in advance.

This got me reflecting on ways in which training sessions are designed and delivered and on the role of the facilitator. I assume that there would need to be a general topic area for the unconference and if so maybe there are a number of other different types of conferences that could take place in a similar style.

Bunconference-Bring a bun to talk about (but only if you’d like to share)

Nunconference-Attend & wait to be guided from above

Funconference-Only fun-loving people need attend, Let’s see what happens!

Dunconference-Don’t even need to attend!

Oh well, it amused me.

One thought on “Unconference

  1. Thanks for the comments about my blog post.

    As I said in my post, I suggested we ran a UN-conference, where the facilitators act as peace-keepers. Given my sense of humour, I’m bound to appreciate yours 🙂

    And clearly a wunconference would beat an ordinary conference.

    Brian Kelly, UKOLN

Leave a Reply

